Carpe Your Own Diem

“There are only two days in the year that nothing can be done. One is called yesterday and the other is called tomorrow, so today is the right day to love, believe, do and mostly live.” -Dalai Lama

There is a special kind of magic in the present moment. While this isn’t a new concept (I mean, carpe diem is Latin so it’s definitely been around a while), I’m sure it bears some reminding. The question I ask, though, is, what does carpe diem look like? I picture Truman on a sailboat smacking into a fake cloud wall. Or maybe Jack at the front of the Titanic shouting “I’m the king of the world!!!”

I’m sure the concept of carpe diem has inspired many people to “get out there.” But, as an introvert and somewhat of a homebody, that doesn’t necessarily have the same appeal to me. Sure, I’ve had my share of adventures and hope to have many more, but on a day-to-day basis, I guess I’m a bit more like Bilbo Baggins, curled up in my hobbit hole with my pocket handkerchief and my cup of tea, and no adventure in sight, thank you very much. Add in a long work week and any additional stressors, and you’re unlikely to see me out and about before next month.

Sometimes this frustrates me, and sometimes I push myself into adventure anyway. From time to time, I think we introverts need an extra push and that’s okay. But when it comes to seizing the day, I ask myself, “If I could be doing anything to make the most of this day, what would it be?” More likely than not, the image that emerges is me sitting at home with a good book, or clacking away at my laptop, maybe a quiet, solitary walk around my neighborhood. So I ask you today, if this day were truly up to you with no outside influences, what would you be doing? I believe that’s the day you want to seize: your day.

Leave a Reply

