Make Room for Enchantment

I’ve been thinking a lot about space lately. Specifically, I’ve been thinking about the space between my two ears. It occurred to me one night, when I was awake at some ungodly hour, that I really only had so much space between my ears, and that it might be wise to think prudently about how I use it.

You see, I spend a lot of energy thinking about the space outside of my head, especially as I have inherited a lot of belongings and live in a small apartment. I think about how I want to organize things, what kinds of things I want in my home and what I don’t, and when and how to purge.

Somehow, though, I’ve never applied this same concept to the space in my head. Specifically, I have been working to add more enchantment in my life. That means more imagination, more creativity, and more wonder. I’ve been passionately seeking out avenues to bring more of these things into my life. Consequently, I’ve been engaging in creative writing projects, reading a lot of psychology books, and generally approaching life with a desire to grow and learn more.

What I have realized is that we need to not only bring the things we are passionate about into our lives, but in order to make space for them, we need to edit out the things that are not as important to us. For me, this means simpler food, a simpler wardrobe, and less media consumption. For the past few days, I have been on a Netflix fast, and am already noticing a change in the amount of emotional energy I have.

The start of a new week is a great time to think about the kinds of things we let into our minds. Is there something in your life that you can prune to make room for a more enchanted life? If so, feel free to give it a try, and let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

